Vibeke M Larsen
Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2005-05-18 - 2:57 p.m.

Have you ever seen a movie that stirred up memories you’d been subconsciously stewing over for years? You see a tale portrayed on the screen and it’s just familiar enough to bring to mind something that happened to you once? I recently sat down to watch the 1995 independent film “Before Sunrise” and it’s 2004 sequel “Before Sunset”, which are both well made cheap films. The first portrays a night between two strangers spent wandering the streets of Vienna, getting to know each other and (perhaps) falling in love, only for the movie to end with them saying goodbye to each other and the audience never knows if they fulfill their promise to see each other again in 6 months. The sequel, made 9 years later with the same actors, tells us what happened to our happy couple, and answers the aching question we all had at the end of the first.

After seeing these movies, I had a small tinge of nostalgia, but not regret, and I had to go dig up an old photograph I have.

It’s a picture of three young Norwegian women lounging around their backpacks on a ferry from Patras to Brindisi. It’s out of focus and badly taken with a cheap disposable camera, but it’s the only photo I have of a woman I once spent a week with.

Read More

anterior - posterior

Sliding into second gear - 2005-06-05
Vibeke M Larsen - 2005-05-18
All alone in a railway station... - 2005-04-09
Honor Among Theives...And Janitors - 2005-03-30
On not relating to Christianity... - 2005-03-27
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!